Forest & Ray Dental Practice Logo
8F Gilbert Place, London WC1A 2JD
Book Online

The majority of east London, England is covered by the E (Eastern) postcode region, sometimes referred to as the London E postcode area. West of the tidal Thames, it shares a border with the N postcode area. Following the shutdown of the East London mail center, the IG and RM postcode regions’ mail is also sorted at the Romford Mail Centre.
The E and NE postcode areas, which had been established in 1858 and 1866, respectively, were originally combined to produce the current E postcode region. The most significant parish, geographical feature, or aspect of the built environment determined the postal districts’ alphabetical order in 1917. The district names were not included in the postal address as of 2004.

Due to high demand, the E1 postcode district’s sector 9 was divided and recoded in 1999 to create the Wapping-area E1W postcode district,[4] although the rest of the district did not receive an additional character. E1 and E1W continue to be grouped together as one “district” when districts are used for anything other than sorting mail, like as a geographic reference and on street signs. Two non-geographic postcode districts, E77 and E98, are available in the E postcode area for high-volume business users. On Whitechapel Road, the Eastern District Office served as the eastern terminus for the defunct London Post Office Railway, which has been dormant since 2003. The Paddington Head District Sorting Office was reached by rail after traveling 10.5 kilometers (6.5 miles).

Since 1985, the fictional E20 postcode has been used in the television soap opera EastEnders. Since 2011, it has been a legitimate postcode that was created from the E15 postcode and exclusively borders it. The buildings there are advertised and frequently self-identify as Olympic Park and Queen Elizabeth Park. It comprises renowned athletic facilities constructed for the 2012 Summer Olympics.

The River Thames forms the southern boundary of the E1 postcode area. The southern postcode areas E6, E14, and E16 also feature riverfront properties. The North Circular Road and the River Roding help define the boundary in the east. The combined area of the London boroughs of Waltham Forest, Newham, and Tower Hamlets makes up the postcode area. The postcode region also includes a tiny portion of the Epping Forest District (E4), the western portions of Redbridge (E11, E12, and E18), Barking and Dagenham (E6), and the eastern portion of the London Borough of Hackney.

Postcode district Post town Coverage Local authority area(s)
E1 LONDON Eastern head district: Aldgate (part), Bishopsgate (part), Whitechapel, Shoreditch (part), Spitalfields, Shadwell, Limehouse, Stepney, Mile End (part), Portsoken Tower Hamlets, Hackney, City of London
E1W LONDON Wapping district: Wapping, St Katharine Docks, Stepney (part), Shadwell (part), Whitechapel (part) Tower Hamlets
E2 LONDON Bethnal Green district: Bethnal Green, Haggerston, Hoxton (part), Shoreditch (part), Cambridge Heath, Globe Town Tower Hamlets, Hackney
E3 LONDON Bow district: Bow, Bow Common, Bromley-by-Bow, Old Ford, Mile End (part), Fish Island, Hackney Wick (part), South Bromley, Mill Meads (part) Tower Hamlets, Newham
E4 LONDON Chingford district: Chingford, Waltham Abbey (part), Highams Park, Woodford Green (part) Waltham Forest, Epping Forest
E5 LONDON Clapton district: Leyton (Part), Upper Clapton, Lower Clapton, Stoke Newington (part) Hackney, Waltham Forest
E6 LONDON East Ham district: East Ham, Beckton, Upton Park (part), Barking (part) Newham, Barking and Dagenham
E7 LONDON Forest Gate district: Forest Gate, Leytonstone (Part), Stratford (part) Newham, Waltham Forest
E8 LONDON Hackney district: Hackney Central, Dalston, London Fields, Stoke Newington (part) Hackney
E9 LONDON Homerton district: Homerton, Hackney Wick, South Hackney, Hackney Marshes, Victoria Park Hackney, Tower Hamlets
E10 LONDON Leyton district: Leyton, Temple Mills, Hackney Marshes (part) Upper Clapton (part), Walthamstow Marshes Waltham Forest, Hackney
E11 LONDON Leytonstone district: Leytonstone, Wanstead, Aldersbrook (part), Snaresbrook, Cann Hall Waltham Forest, Redbridge
E12 LONDON Manor Park district: Manor Park, Little Ilford, Aldersbrook (part) Newham, Redbridge
E13 LONDON Plaistow district: Plaistow, West Ham (part), Upton Park (part) Newham
E14 LONDON Poplar district: Poplar, Isle of Dogs, Limehouse, Canary Wharf, Millwall, Blackwall, Cubitt Town, South Bromley, North Greenwich, Leamouth Tower Hamlets
E15 LONDON Stratford district: Stratford, West Ham (part), Maryland, Leyton (part), Leytonstone (part) Temple Mills (part), Hackney Wick (part), Bow (part) Newham, Waltham Forest, Hackney, Tower Hamlets
E16 LONDON Victoria Docks and North Woolwich district: Canning Town, Silvertown, Royal Docks, North Woolwich, Beckton (part), Custom House, London City Airport Newham
E17 LONDON Walthamstow district: Walthamstow, Upper Walthamstow, Leyton (part) Waltham Forest
E18 LONDON Woodford and South Woodford district: Woodford, South Woodford Redbridge
E20 LONDON Olympic Park district: Olympic Park, & parts of Stratford, Homerton, Leyton, Bow Newham, Waltham Forest, Hackney, Tower Hamlets
E77 LONDON Non-geographic postcode district (NatWest, delivers to E1) Tower Hamlets
E98 LONDON Non-geographic postcode district (News International, delivers to E1W) Tower Hamlets

Dental Implants
Cosmetic Dentistry
Contact Us
Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Complaints
© Copyright 2021 Forest & Ray Ltd. - All Rights Reserved
menucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram